RSS

I Kid You Not! – Pants Scared Offeth

14 Jan

The accounts of the following events are all factual. You can’t make this stuff up. Well, you could make this stuff up, I suppose. But I didn’t. This really did happen. I know, some movies claim they are based on true events, then you find out the only true events were that a man and a woman were in a house and the rest is fiction. None of this is fiction, so you’ll just have to take my word for it. If you dare…

So, last year, I was going to blog about some old-school stuff we had in the house that I love so much that I will never part with them. One was a toy, another was a CD and the last was a book. This particular book is called “The Sick of Being Sick Book”. It’s one of my favorites because it’s a unique book of humor and quips about how to be sick when you’re sick. The reason this book played a big part in my life was because, well, I was always sick. I had asthma as a child and usually spent time at my Grandma’s house on sick days so my mom could still go to work. “The Sick of Being Sick Book” was one of my favorites to bring along with me and so I read it over and over and over. As I said, I was going to write about this book, a CD and a toy last year, but then the holidays hit and the three items were just sort of floating around the house. Not literally. That would be creepy.

Eventually, the CD made its way to the entertainment center cabinet. The toy, an extremely annoying toy, made it to the basement. (I’ve kept it for sentimental reasons.) And the book, well, I kept it out for my 9-year-old son, who had read it a few years back but is rarely sick, and maybe he would want to read it again sometime soon. So here’s this really old book just jumping around the house for the last two months…

I love books! So much that I follow some of the most intriguing children’s authors on Twitter and, once in a while, pester them with my bizarre and insightful comments or questions. Earlier this week, my four-year-old wanted to play with a gently used solar system kit we purchased at a second hand store. He loves it because each planet has two pieces you snap together, so he likes to put things inside the planets and pretend that gives them special “powers”. For this activity, I wanted to play in the dining room, which is usually reserved for puzzles and holiday dinner set up. So, it’s been a while since we’ve spent time in this room.

20120114-104413.jpg

As my son became more involved in his imaginary play, and my purpose of snapping all the planets together had withered away, I decided to catch up on my email, Twitter and Facebook on my iPhone.

I followed author R.L. Stine one day, a while back, for one reason and one reason only, I once knew a kid who was obsessed with the “Goosebumps” series. I had never read any of the books but I do remember when the television series started on Friday nights. So, I followed R.L. Stine.

I enjoy his Tweets daily. He often Tweets random shots of information that I like to repeat to my family in a clever fashion. For example, he Tweeted that you have to get permission from both countries before being allowed to tightrope across Niagara Falls. That’s cool stuff to spout out, if you ask me.

So, while I was perusing my Twitter Timeline on this particular day, I caught R.L. Stine’s Tweet this week saying this:

Is this the worst TV interview show ever?

Why am I on it?? http://tinyurl.com/7r6n2v4

It made me snicker, of course. And I had to see what it was all about.

However, my iPhone hates me. I have stored way too many videos of my kids on it, and my computer refuses to download them because of their size. So any time I try to watch a YouTube video, I plan to go make myself a sandwich while waiting for it to load. Then I eat the sandwich and sometimes, just sometimes, I go grab a kosher pickle as well. The other day I wanted to hear the Ants/Picnic song from Garfield and Friends and I gave up after 2 minutes because I wasn’t hungry.

On this particular day that I was sitting with my child, who was perfectly happy telling each planet what their powers were, I decided to tap on the link R.L. Stine provided and find out what the heck his comment was referring to. I wondered, “Was Mr. Stine interviewed without his knowledge?” and then thought, “Does he not remember being interviewed?”

I had to know. So I waited as the link turned to YouTube and I was mesmerized by the blinking asterisk of death in the lower right hand corner of my phone. As YouTube opened up, I dropped my shoulders and began to pout. The first thing I thought was, “Nevermind, I’ll just watch it later on my laptop,” which I knew would never happen. I looked over at my happy child swinging Uranus by a string and making whoosh whoosh sounds and something in me decided to go ahead and wait for the video to load. With no time to grab a sandwich, the video loaded! I found this odd. Now, if you click on that link above, the one that R.L. Stine tempted the Twitter world with, you’ll be taken to an interview between Mr. Stine himself and a gentleman by the name of George Kareman. I thought the interview was hilarious, but I have a disturbed sense of humor so you’ll have to decide for yourself.

The crazy part about this interview was the small bit of information I learned from it. Information so unexpected that I felt compelled to Tweet back to R.L. Stine. Mr. Kareman brings up the fact that R.L. Stine was a comedy writer before writing the “Goosebumps” series. Stine confirms this and says that his joke books were written under the name Jovial Bob Stine.

I was totally surprised! Not only did I know the name Jovial Bob Stine, I knew I had some of his joke books as a kid! I was so excited to learn this that I Tweeted to R.L. Stine that I was excited to learn this! Ohmagosh!

Now, I don’t usually expect people on Twitter to respond so I just sat there trying to think of where those books were now. (My poor mom is always on the hunt for things I remember randomly.) As I sat there thinking about it and listening to whoosh whoosh and pzzzt pzzzt from my four year old, I looked down and focused on a book sitting on the table in front of me – a table I rarely sit at. It was the book that has been floating around my house for the last two months. Remember that book? It’s called “The Sick of Being Sick Book” and it’s written by Jovial Bob Stine and Jane Stine.

Talk about getting goosebumps! I was Fer-Reaking out! I mean, what are the odds that I’m sitting directly in front of this book at this particular moment only to find that this particular author on this particular day shares this particular interview containing this particular bit of information pertaining to said book? This is no joke!

20120114-104812.jpg

It was so freaky that I had to call my mom and ask her why this was happening to me! I needed to be pinched, pretty hard. I also had to take a picture of the book and Tweet it off to R.L. Stine. He was nice enough to respond, Tweeting:

@MarthaaaFish Wow. I haven’t seen that book in a long, long time! How strange.

Strange for him or strange for me? I was weirded out the remainder of the morning and I’m weirded out just recalling it now. I must have picked that book up a hundred times to make sure it was real. I just picked it up again. Yes, it’s real. So now I have a second reason for never getting rid of this book. You just can’t make up a creepy story like this, you know. Well, you could. But I didn’t.

Love,

Marthaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

P.S. My son has not read a “Goosebumps” book yet. If I tell him this story, he may never read one. I’ll hold off a little longer. When I’m ready for waking up to screaming in the middle of the night, then I’ll encourage him to give one a chance. For now, I’ll enjoy my sleep.

 

One response to “I Kid You Not! – Pants Scared Offeth

  1. Angie @ Bigbearswife

    January 17, 2012 at 4:11 pm

    That is pretty cool!

     

Leave a Reply

 
