RSS

Do you fancy an Independent Bookstore?

16 Dec

Have you heard of Book Talk Nation yet? If not, check it here —> www.booktalknation.com

“Why?” you ask.

Because it’s only the coolest thing since a peanut butter, jelly and banana sandwich (as my 4 year old would put it). Unless you have nut allergies, which my 9 year old takes very seriously. As it should be. In which case, let me know what your PBJ&B equivalent is.

Back to Book Talk Nation. I was elated to be a part of something kinda cool and kinda new. As I’ve said before, my favorite writers growing up were Judy Blume, Roald Dahl, Ann M. Martin and Louis Sachar. When @rachelvailbooks Tweeted that she would be interviewing author Judy Blume, I was pretty excited to involve my 8 year old (at the time) who has read Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing, Superfudge, and Fudge-A-Mania with me. Although I realize you can watch any famous person, or any non-famous person for that matter, get interviewed on television and pretty much DVR and experience it whenever you like, I must admit I was intrigued by listening in on a phone interview for several reasons:

  • I had never done it before
  • The interview was with an author whose books I adore
  • The interview was in Real Time
  • Each individual interview is coupled with an Independent Bookstore (which is important to me) from which you can purchase autographed books by the author interviewed. Saweeet!
  • It gave me an opportunity to introduce my son to something he may not have realized yet: Authors are people too!

The experience was amazing! I think I was smiling the whole time. It was kind of like the time I met Steve Guttenburg at Ed Debevic’s in Beverly Hills. He was so nice to us and he even asked me what grade I was in! It took all my guts to tell him I was in college. Boy, I should have worn make up back then…

It was a little strange at first, listening in to the interview. My son asked me to come see something and I said, “Hold on. I’m on the phone,” which was true, but kinda not. Then we had to head to the gym (I almost forgot it was spinning night!) so I put the phone on speaker in the van. The 8 year old shushed the 4 year old. They have NOT been that quiet in the van for at least 4 months now! It was intense. My 8 year old had caught on that this was the call in to the Judy Blume interview and hung on to every word.

To listen to an author you admire, talking about their writing trials, tribulations, inspirations and success really makes an impact on how you spend your time writing, and reading for that matter. I’m proud of the way I write and I write for my kids first. If it doesn’t make them happy, I know I’m not going to make anyone happy about what they just read. And that’s all I want. When I don’t write, ask my husband, I’m a hot mess of soup sandwich. I go through withdrawls.

I wish I could tell you everything that was said in the interview, but it’s truly an experience you can’t imitate, reiterate or DVR and watch later. You have to, literally, hear it for yourself.

Check out the website. Tell them you want more! Tell them who you want to hear!

And for goodness sakes, tell your favorite independently owned bookstore about it. I did!

Love,

Marthaaaaaaaaaaaa

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 16, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
