RSS

Thank You, Veterans

11 Nov


I’m pretty goofy most of the time but if there are any topics I take seriously in my life it’s cancer and the military. Both stop me in my tracks without a second mention. As a young girl, I didn’t think about the military, war or even peace. Now that I have children, it means everything to me. I am thankful every day that I don’t base my life around terrorism, genocide, and such morbid events that have the potential of occuring on a daily basis on my front step. Sure, there are plenty of dangers in the U.S. But it doesn’t control me.

For all those living on this planet during the 9/11 attacks, we have a bond and a responsibility of sharing that event with our children. And not from a text book, but from experience. On that same note, my husband, who served in the Navy, opened my eyes to the stories his grandfather shared with him about Guadalcanal and serving during WWII. He made me see the importance of talking with my children about the sacrifices that have been made in the past so that they could live a comfortable life today. My 8 year old is a military fanatic. He is fascinated by the use of the jargon, the organization of each branch and he never forgets that the men and women who have served, sacrificed their every day to secure our future.

He's always known what it means to be free

Having two boys who are influenced by their military ancestors and father, I know there’s a greater chance I will see them off to the military one day. Does that bother me? It scares the hell out of me. But I know that, if not for the blood that flows in our heroes, more blood would be shed in this country. On behalf of my family, THANK YOU VETERANS for making this family possible.

Great Grandpa Ken is a hero

 

Leave a Reply

 
