RSS

Doubledecker Disaster or How Mommy Got Her Butt Kicked

10 Nov

I’ve been up for just two hours today and already I have broken up two fights, prepared three meals, cleaned five rooms, organized three schedules, ironed two articles of clothing, and had a paper airplane thunk me in the head. I added that because it JUST happened. On top of that, I got into an altercation for five minutes, in which I bumped my elbow, pulled a hamstring, busted my head, and got a splinter in my finger. And after all that, the bunkbed won! And that was just the bottom bunk… don’t get me started on the top bunk, which no one is allowed to use unless they don’t already live in this house.

So, guess what? I HATE BUNKBEDS! My kid hates his bunkbed. The reason he hates it? He hates it because I hate making it and so I make him make it. But today I decided to help him out…

Whoever invented bunkbeds is a GENIUS because, although they are a huge pain in the butt to make, we STILL buy them! I never had one as a kid, yet I always wanted one. They have to be the coolest thing a kid could ever play on/in. My friends’ brother had a car bed when we were kids and we pretended it drove us to the past and the future. But the bunkbed goes beyond that. It’s has so much potential from the day you buy it. I mean it can be a cave, a three story apartment, a skyscraper, a bridge in which to bungee jump off of. The possibilities are endless, as they say.

Thank goodness for the sticker on the top bunk that states you have to be 6 years or older to be up there, otherwise I’d be freaking out for the next two years. Of course, I’m really good at coming up with my own rules, but it just makes my life easier. Once we went to this massive furniture store and they had a luxury bunkbed on display. It had a clubhouse on top and my kids were ecstatic. The 8 year old, who hates making his bed, lost his mind and forgot all the times he bonked his head and got fuzzy elbows from smacking them into the walls when the blankets got loose from his yank. I brought him back to Earth and said, “Now, how in the world would you get a vaccuum cleaner up there?” He knew I was messing with him, but we have shared the dilemma of making the bunk beds. It bites!

I’d like to know what other people do with bunk beds. Do you just give up on all sanity or do you do something clever like custom make blankets or use throw blankets that are the perfect size, or something in that nature? Just help! And pretty please don’t share a link with some seemingly awesome solution unless you actually own one or know someone personally that owns one. The last thing I want to do is “test” something out, find out it doesn’t work, bring in an axe, chop up the bunk bed and then have to clean up the emotional mess that goes along with a reaction like that.

Much appreciated.

Love,

Marthaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa 

P.S. How about them fitted sheets? Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!

 

4 responses to “Doubledecker Disaster or How Mommy Got Her Butt Kicked

  1. Tara

    November 11, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    Dear Martha, Consider a sleeping bag! xoxo

     
    • marthaaafish

      November 24, 2011 at 8:30 am

      I have been thinking about the sleeping bags and somehow I had a hard time parting with the comforter set we just purchased for the bottom bunk. I got a great idea based on both suggestions to use a sleeping bag, but we are still testing it out. Whether it works or not, I’ll share it. But I figure I can’t call it a success (or failure) after one night. To be continued… 🙂

       
  2. Sharon Wheeler

    November 13, 2011 at 5:22 am

    Hey April!

    Been enjoying your Blog! About those bunk beds, I knew a lady that let her boys sleep in sleeping bags, the fun kind in the kids dept. They can be washed once a week, there’s no hassle making the bed, look tidy with fitten sheets on the mattress to finish off the look (I gather that you hate fitted sheets?) and the kids feel like they’re on a perpetual sleep over!
    Love Auntie Sharon

     

Leave a Reply

 
